All FAI aerobatics international championships (powered and glider aircraft), competitions and record activities are conducted under the direction of the FAI Aerobatics Commission (CIVA). CIVA stands for "Commission Internationale de Voltige Aérienne".


The FAI Aerobatics Commission meets once a year in plenary session in November to discuss and work on the development of aerobatics sport, rules changes and sporting events (decision on venues for future events, appointment of organising committees, etc.). 

Each FAI Member Country may appoint a Delegate with the right to vote at the Annual Meeting.


Between annual meetings, the FAI Aerobatics Commission is run by the Bureau, which consists of the President, four Vice Presidents, the Treasurer and the Secretary.

The Bureau is elected during the annual meeting of the FAI Aerobatics Commission.


Each FAI Member Country can appoint a Delegate to the FAI Aerobatics Commission and participate in the work of the commission.


Subcommittees are set up by the FAI Aerobatics Commission. They have specific terms of reference (TOR) for their work and responsibilities. These TOR are approved by the CIVA Annual Meeting.

Working Groups

Working Groups are temporarily established by the FAI Aerobatics Commission to study and report on specific matters or proposals.

Go to the Organisation page to get the list of all Bureau Members, Delegates, Subcommittees and Working Groups.


FAI Medals and Diplomas are awarded each year at the Opening Ceremony of the annual FAI General Conference.

The FAI Award for aerobatics is the following:

  • The Leon Biancotto Aerobatics Diploma

Rules & other documents

The FAI Aerobatics Commission establishes and maintains rules and criteria for FAI aerobatics competitions and records, FAI badges, security at world sporting events, and technical standards.

Go to the Documents page to get the latest edition of those documents.